Poetry: To Shards of Glass

To Shards of Glass

I was told that we are made of glass

Our souls are too thin

But I didn’t believe it

Till the shards were in my skin

They made the announcement on a Friday

Through the school’s glaring halls

That a girl we once knew

Would never be back at all

Her chair would be empty

Her locker cleaned out

You could hear the questions in our heads-

What was it about?

What demons were she fighting-

Could I have figured it out?

I wish I had noticed it earlier

Or had decided to ask—

Because her soul was shattering,

Into shards of glass.

And those shards found us,

They pierced into our souls

And for that I say goodbye to the world

My glass soul is unheard

-Madi Yoo

Leave a Reply

